Studying… the fun way

Studying comes with the territory of being a student, but this weekend, there was sun! This is a rare commodity in Portland this time of year, so since the rays of happiness were extending all the way to the coast, I drove out there with a buddy yesterday. With study materials in hand, we hunkered down by a log and learned things. Our home for the day:

Study Log

I played with some effects on my phone (some study breaks were necessary):

Beach

I started knitting something for my mom:

casting on at the beach

Some people were riding horses to the beach, and then on the beach. So romantic. We also saw some beach tricycle things that I had never seen before. They seemed to be pretty speedy considering they were traveling on sand. Has anyone seen them before? I didn’t get a photo, unfortunately.

Horses

We made sure we were back in time for the sunset,

Just before sunset

and found this clever message in the sand:

CAT MEOW

It may seems like we just had fun all day (which we did), but we definitely also got some studying done! At the end of the day when we were done, we enjoyed the sunset. And by that I mean ran like crazy people down the beach because I wanted to get the sun setting behind Haystack rock. I didn’t decide this until the sun was already heading down, so it was a mad dash. We made it in time, with some brief photo-taking pauses, but at that point, clouds were blocking the sun and my camera (phone) had died. wah wah. It was totally worth it for the breathless laughing along the way.

This day made me wonder why I don’t spend every weekend at the coast.

Leave a Reply

